MOOLESS ANIMAL-FREE WHEY PROTEIN
Vanilla Bean Cupcake 10 Servings
JUST AS EFFECTIVE
MOOLESS offers the nutritional benefits of whey protein powder but with much less environmental impact than conventional whey protein powder.
How to Make Your Shake
MOOLESS ANIMAL-FREE WHEY PROTEIN
Vanilla Bean Cupcake | 10 Servings
WHAT IS THE PROCESS?
MOOLESS is animal-free whey protein, made with Perfect Day, that provides a whey experience, without the cows. Thanks to advances in food technology, precision fermentation is making a splash in our food ecosystem. Here’s a peek at the process.
To make animal-free whey protein, microﬂora (fungi) are given an exact copy of DNA corresponding to cow’s milk protein.
In fermentation tanks, the flora grazes on flora food (sugar, water, and minerals) and converts it into animal-free milk protein.
In the final step, the flora is filtered out, leaving pure, animal-free whey protein that is identical to the protein found in cow’s milk. Without the cow!
For more detailed processing information, check this out!
What is animal-free whey protein powder?
MOOLESS is animal-free whey protein, made with Perfect Day, that provides a whey experience, without the cows. Perfect Day’s animal-free whey protein is molecularly-identical to traditional whey protein found in cow’s milk but is made via fermentation, without any animal inputs.
Is it vegan?
Some may consider MOOLESS vegan-friendly because no animal inputs are used and there are no animals involved in the process whatsoever.
The animal-free protein used in MOOLESS is made via fermentation, with zero animals used in the process, so it may be suited for a vegan diet, depending on how you define it.
There are many reasons for following a vegan diet and lifestyle and we encourage each person to decide which Natreve protein powder is right for them.
Is it plant-based?
It is not plant-based in the way that you are not consuming plants, like as you would with a pea protein, for example.
Microﬂora is given the genetic blueprint of milk protein and through the process of fermentation, which includes plant-based "flora food" (sugar, water, oxygen, nitrogen, salts, minerals) animal-free milk protein (identical to what cows produce) is made. So, while there are plant-based ingredients (sugar) used in the process the final product is an animal-free whey protein powder, not a plant-based protein powder.
If you are looking for a plant-based and 100% vegan option, we recommend Natreve Vegan Protein Series.
How is animal-free dairy protein made?
Great question! You can learn more about Perfect Day’s process here.
How does the environment impact compare to conventional whey protein processing?
The animal-free whey protein powder made by Perfect Day and found in MOOLESS uses is up to 99% less water, up to 97% less GHG, and up to 60% less nonrenewable energy compared to conventional whey protein processing.
Perfect Day worked with a third party to validate this information and to conduct their ISO-Compliant LCA. A life cycle assessment (LCA) is an evaluation of the environmental impacts of a product, measuring inputs used in its production all the way along its supply chain. The LCA evaluated the environmental footprint from direct and indirect resource extraction to the finished protein (also called “cradle-to-gate”). They compared their supply chain impacts to prior published LCAs that assess water, emissions, and energy impacts of conventional whey protein production.
The study gathered all this data to create a clear picture of exactly how Perfect Day’s process measures up to conventional dairy on greenhouse gas emissions, water, and energy usage. Read more and download the study here.
Is it dairy-free?
It is not dairy-free. Because animal-free whey protein is molecularly-identical to whey protein from cows it is not suitable for those with a milk protein allergy, which is why you will see a “contains milk allergen” declaration on the packaging.
Is it lactose-free?
Yes! Because there are no animal products used, MOOLESS is 100% lactose and hormone-free.
Why do some flavors of MOOLESS have 1g of sugar?
The sugar in MOOLESS is naturally occurring from the ingredients in the blend and may vary based on flavor. MOOLESS is sweetened with organic monk fruit and stevia extracts.